top of page
Jerwood Drawing Prize 2017
Jerwood Space, London
13 Sep - 22 Oct 2017
East Gallery, Norwich University of the Arts
14 Nov 2017 - 20 Jan 2018
The Edge, Bath University 
10 Feb - 31 Mar 2018
Sidney Cooper Gallery, Canterbury 
11 Apr - 5 May 2018
Screenshot 2021-02-07 at 14.20.44.png

Jerwood Drawing Prize is largest and longest-running annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK, presented in collaboration with Bath Spa University. In 2017 works have been selected for inclusion by Dr David Dibosa, writer, researcher and Reader in Museology at the University of the Arts London, Helen Legg, Director of Spike Island and Michael Simpson, artist.

Selected from original drawings, the Jerwood Drawing Prize has established a reputation for its commitment to championing excellence, and to promoting and celebrating the breadth of contemporary drawing practice. The exhibition provides a platform to showcase the work of UK-based drawing practitioners, from student to established, and as a project helps to define a wider understanding of the role and value of drawing in creative practice.

Exhibiting artists: David Ainley, Elisa Alaluusua, Pam Aldridge, Becky Allen, Kate Aspinall, Adam Bainbridge, Andy Bannister, Helen Barff, Dail Behennah, Kelly Best, Kate Black, Alice Blackstock, Abigail Booth, Becky Brewis, Lucinda Burgess, Eric Butcher, Stephen Carter, Ian Chamberlain, Lewis Chamberlain, Dean Claydon, Susannah Douglas, Dickon Drury, Richard Ducker, Jim Dunkley, James Fowkes, Nigel Frost, Christopher Fry, Lesley Hicks, Jim Hobbs, Marianne Holm Hansen, Caroline Holt-Wilson, Susie Howarth, Ronnie Hughes, Jeremy Hutchison, Julia Hutton, Jonathan Huxley, Alexander Johnson, Ben Johnson, Will Kippax, Jason Lane, Gary Lawrence, Carali McCall, Grace McMurray, Tahira Mandarino, Ana Mendes, Jasone Miranda-Bilbao, Jade Montserrat, Dejan Mrdja, David Murphy, Susan Petticrew, Helen Rawlinson, Giulia Ricci, Fiona G Roberts, Caragh Savage, Carly Seller, Tom Sewell, Laurie Steen, Rebecca Swindell, David Symonds, Sally Taylor, Ben Wade, Barbara Walker, Eleanor Wood, Sally Wood, and Andrea V Wright.

The prestigious first prize of £8,000 has been awarded to Gary Lawrence for his monumental drawing Yellow Kalymnos and Fridge Magnets. Ana Mendes is the recipient of the £5000 second prize for her video work, On Drawing. Two Student Awards of £2000 each are awarded to Jade Montserrat and Dejan Mrdja respectively. Barbara Walker is the recipient of the newly introduced Evelyn Williams Drawing Award, worth £10,000.

Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize, formerly the Jerwood Drawing Prize, was founded in 1994 by Anita Taylor and Paul Thomas as the Rexel Derwent Open Drawing Exhibition. It was known from 1996 until 2000 as the Cheltenham Open Drawing Exhibition and was supported by a private benefactor, Westland Nurseries, The Summerfield Trust, CHK Charities and Rootstein Hopkins Foundation. When known as Jerwood Drawing Prize it had 17 years of significant support from Jerwood Charitable Foundation from 2001 until 2017.

bottom of page